Call For Papers

Call for Papers

9th IEEE International Workshop on Network Science for Communication Networks (NetSciCom) – Jointly organized with IEEE INFOCOM 2017, Atlanta, GA, USA.


NetSciCom 2017:



About NetSciCom

Network Science models the structure and dynamics of a wide variety of large-scale complex networks, including Internet connectivity, the WWW, peer-to-peer networks, and online social networks. Of particular relevance to the INFOCOM community, the design of efficient large-scale communication networks such as the Internet requires researchers to understand the interdependency between the underlying physical network and the information and social networks that it intends to support. This effort will require intimate knowledge of the emergent network properties, phase transitions, and dynamics of the component networks, as well as new research into the interaction between networks. A deeper understanding of such interdependency can only be achieved by closer interaction between network scientists, communication network designers, and social and behavioral scientists.


The goal of this workshop is to provide a forum where this diverse group of researchers can come together and exchange ideas that will lead to insights into the design of robust, efficient and complex networks of the future.


Call for papers

We solicit papers addressing the fundamental concepts and applications of network science, particularly as it intersects with the design of communication networks. We welcome theoretical approaches and data-driven approaches, as well as position papers.  Topics of interest include, but are not limited to:


·   Modelling, design and analysis of complex and interdependent networks

·   Information diffusion and knowledge transfer in networks, propagation studies, routing, traffic modelling

·   Algorithms for static, time-varying, and dynamic communication networks

·   Network robustness, phase transitions, security, privacy, trust in networks

·   Economic aspects, incentives, marketing


Important Dates:

-       Submission deadline: January 24th (11pm PST), 2017

- -     Acceptance deadline: February 22nd, 2017

-       Camera ready: March 12th, 2017
Workshop: May 1st, 2017


Submission Details

Papers should contain original material, i.e., that has not been previously published or currently submitted elsewhere. Manuscripts must be limited to 6 pages in IEEE 8.5x11 conference format, and formatted in strict accordance with the IEEE Communications Society author guidelines. All submissions will be handled electronically. The accepted and presented papers will be published in the IEEE INFOCOM 2017 workshop proceedings and appear in IEEE Xplore.


Use the standard IEEE Transactions templates for Microsoft Word or LaTeX formats found at: If the paper is typeset in LaTeX, please use an unmodified version of the LaTeX template IEEEtran.cls version 1.8, and use the preamble: \documentclass[10pt, conference, letterpaper]{IEEEtran}


Prospective authors should submit their papers through EDAS:




General Chair

      Robert Ulman, U.S. Army Research Office


Technical Program Chairs

Nicole Immorlica, Microsoft Research, New England, USA

Stefan Schmid, Aalborg University, Denmark


Technical Program Committee

Amir Ajorlou (MIT, USA)

John Augustine (IIT Madras, India)

Amotz Barnoy (CUNY, USA)

Kostas Bimpikis (Stanford, USA)

Ulrik Brandes (Uni Konstanz, Germany)

Jon Crowcroft (University of Cambridge, UK)

Gianlorenzo D'Angelo (Gran Sasso Science Institute (GSSI), Italy)

Pradipta De (Georgia Southern University)

Robert Elsaesser (University of Salzburg, Austria)

Michele Flammini (University of L'Aquila, Italy)

Xiaoming Fu (Uni Goettingen, Germany)

Andrea Galeotti (European University Institute, Italy)

Ben Golub (Harvard, USA)

Roch Guerin (Washington University in St. Louis, USA)

Hamed Haddadi (QMUL, UK)

Andrea Hess-Wijaya (Trinity College, Ireland)

Stephan Holzer (MIT, USA)

Marton Karsai (ENS Lyon/INRIA, France)

Ramin Khalili (Huawei, Germany)

Matthieu Latapy (LIP6, France)

Andreas Loukas (EPFL, Switzerland)

Henning Meyerhenke (Karlsruhe Institute of Technology (KIT), Germany)

Bivas Mitra (IIT Kharagpur, India)

Saket Navlakha (Salk Institute, USA)

Sigal Oren (Ben-Gurion University, Israel)

Panagiotis Papadimitriou (University of Macedonia, Greece)

Boaz Patt-Shamir (Tel Aviv University, Israel)

Joel Rybicki (University of Helsinki, Finland)

Partha Sarathi Mandal (IIT Guwahati, India)

Grant Schoenbeck (University of Michigan, USA)  

Pavlos Sermpezis (FORTH, Greece)  

Neta Rozen Schiff (Hebrew University, Israel)

Omer Tamuz (Caltech, USA)

Ingo Scholtes (ETH Zurich, Switzerland)

Leandros Tassiulas (Yale, USA)

Gilles Tredan (CNRS, France)

Johan Ugander (Stanford, USA)  

Matt Weinberg (Princeton, USA)

Eiko Yoneki (University of Cambridge, UK)


Steering Committee

      Andrea Richa, Chair, Arizona State University, USA

      Katia Obraczka, Member, University of California, Santa Cruz, USA

      Guoliang Xue, Member, Arizona State University, USA

      Arun Sen, Member, Arizona State University, USA